Pizza’s or where have I been for the last week

Fear not dear reader I’m back, last week was half-term and the toll of keeping an energetic, snot filled, 4 year old was heavy. We ate out, a lot, The Cub did really well this half-term so was treated to his favourite place on earth Ikea – do not ask how long we spend in the lighting section, but it’s longer than the toys! Yes, we had meatballs. It’s a toss up with Mr Cub if his favourite food is sausages or meatballs.

I did cook some stuff over the last week. we had home made pizza.

We sometimes have tortilla pizza, which is basically a pizza on a tortilla but this is VERY messy and today I could NOT face Robin (who is a neat freak) getting all antsy at the table because of the mess – don’t ask, he’s hell to live with sometimes!

Here’s the dough recipe from Saint Delia*, How to Cook, it makes 1 25cm (10 inch) base:

  • 175g Strong plain white flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt (Delia’s recipe has 1 tsp but I find this to much)
  • 1 tsp easy-blend yeast
  • 1/2 tsp sugar (Delia uses golden caster sugar but I find no difference tbh)
  • 120ml warm water
  • 1 tbl olive oil
  • 2-3 tablespoons polenta (cornmeal)

I use a bread maker, I’m not going to apologise ๐Ÿ˜‰ The only time I make bread by hand is when I have The Rage. I have a hormonal issue which is managed, quite effectively, by medication. But, about twice per year, it flares up to monumental proportions and pounding the crap out of dough is an excellent venting mechanism. So, where was I? Oh yes, I bung everything in the bread maker (in the way stated by the manufacturer) and press the dough setting. If you’re making by hand here are the instructions:

  1. Mix the flour, salt and yeast together in a warm bowl. Make a well in the centre and add the warm water and olive oil. Using your hands or a wooden spoon, mix to a soft dough.
  2. Turn the dough out and knead it for 3-5 minutes until it is smooth and elastic.
  3. Return the ball of dough to the bowl, cover with clingfilm or a clean, damp tea towel, and leave in a warm area until the dough has doubled in size. This should take 45 minutes to an hour.
  4. sprinkle work surface with polenta and roll the dough out, **get creative and pretend you’re in Rome and toss it up in the air and roll it on your hand

Then I shape the base, I am VERY bad at this and it’s always cause for ‘hilarity’ because I try to do it like in Italian restaurants and end up punching a hole in the base. Ha ha, did I mention sarcasm is my life? You might want to note that this dough is a bit wetter than you’re use to don’t be to worried.

Preheat your oven to 220C/425F/Gas 7, adjust as per manufacturers instructions for a fan oven. On that subject – we have a fan oven – I usually (unless I’m baking) don’t bother preheating and shove whatever it is in at the temp for a normal oven, it usually takes a one or two minutes less or exactly the same time and I haven’t spent money on energy to heat the oven. Warning do not try this at home or do so at your own risk! And back to the plot, after shaping leave somewhere warm for 10 minutes. Cover with your toppings and bake for approx 25 minutes.

Pizza base, I use passata, stripey, natch, with any of the following I feel like:

  • tomato paste
  • chilli flakes
  • mixed herbs
  • garlic
  • basil
  • parmesan cheese (or similar cheaper version). Again I keep this in the freezer and just grate off what I need when I need it, just like the ginger in yesterdays post.
  • Worcestershire sauce (this is pronounced Wuster for our American readers, should I ever get any ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Any tomato base left over gets popped in the fridge and used in spag bol/lasagne/chilli at some point the next week. If it looks like it won’t get used it gets frozen. Now, some people say freeze things in ice cube trays or bags so you can just use what you need. I have never had the energy orย wherewithal to be bothered to do it. I am very lazy! I put it in a bag and shove it in the freezer. I find the sealable bags from Ikea work VERY well. Oh, how I heart Ikea ๐Ÿ˜€ I digress, again, mix it all together in a bowl. Apply as much as you want, add your toppings and bake. I currently do not have a pizza stone. I’m on a gadget ban – we really don’t have enough room in our kitchen for anymore gadgets and I do so luff my gadgets. So, I just use oiled foil under the pizza to make sure the toppings don’t drop off and end up lurking at the bottom of the oven.

Eat, if you are very odd and have pizza left over eat the next day for breakfast. Pizza, is the gods own food, or, if you’re not inclined towards gods, the perfect food. It’s as good hot as it is cold. It’s not my favourite food, though it does make my top 10 ๐Ÿ˜€ The Cub declared he didn’t want cheese on his pizza, he has these mad ideas sometimes, he’s 4 and will one day take over the world if current behavior is anything to go by. So I hid some cheese under his pepperoni as he only wanted pepperoni on his pizza. Did a salad and some garlic bread and there you go.

We had sausage chips and gravy and a variety of meals that required little to no energy expending on them. Because, after a day with a 4 year old who is use to being entertained by elventybillion other small people there is no energy left.

When asked today what we want for dinner we actually got an answer, result! Well not really, there are many awake hours between now and dinner time so this could all change – it usually does. This time they are getting what they asked for! Boundaries? I gotcha boundaries right here! Said in my very poor Brooklyn accent.

Here’s a picture of The Cub because, no post would be complete without one:

various 003

No picture of the pizza because my phone needed charging and I’d had a day. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve attached the spread sheet I use to scale up the pizza dough, if you have any questions about using it leave me a comment. It’s NOT protected if you change things it will stop working properly. Please remember I use less salt than Delia and if you want to go with her recipe you’ll need to factor that in yourself.

Tonight we are going with gammon steak, potatoes and whatever veg is in the fridge. I’m pretty sure you don’t need a photo of that, but if you insist in the comments I’ll post one later.

pizza conversion chart

Peace, love and pizza!

* I have oft let down Saint Delia, she has never let me down, although, I’m reliably informed her baking recipes can be a bit hit and miss.

**this is me being facetious and not an Delia instruction

2 thoughts on “Pizza’s or where have I been for the last week

  1. Insisting in the comments. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Well, I’m not insisting, just participating so you know you’re not alonesome. I have yet to ask what HE wants for tea. I might not ask. I might just do what we were supposed to have for lunch but didn’t have because “a sulk” happened. Aint life grand.

Leave a Reply

