Day 11, in which we might cheat a little bit

because I’ve posted before with this recipe and I’m busy so I’ll cut and paste some of it:

  • 1 red pepper, deseeded and cut into chunks
  • 1 yellow pepper, deseeded and cut into chunks – the recipe says a green pepper but as green peppers are nasty un-ripened peppers I don’t use them.
  • 1 x 227g tin of pineapple chunks sliced and juice retained. I use stripey (what we call whatever value range the supermarket is selling because Tesco’s use to be stripey) tins of pineapple.
  • 1 tbsp of light soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp clear rice vinegar or cider vinegar. It’s pretty much always cider vinegar because I love salad dressings with cider vinegar or if I’m feeling sassy mirin.
  • 1/2 tsp brown sugar optional
  • 1 tsp cornflour blended with 1 tbsp cold water

The recipe gives a really complicated way of making the sauce here’s what I do:

Stir fry the peppers and ginger in the pan for a couple of minutes. Add everything else except the sugar. Boil the crap out of it for a few minutes. CAREFULLY taste – this is going to be hotter than McDonald’s coffee use to be, so let it cool and then cool some more. Add the sugar if you need to and adjust the seasoning to your taste. Thicken with the cornflour/water mixture if required.

Stir fry your meat and or vegies, we would be having chicken, chinese leaves, pak choi and any veg I can find in the bottom of the fridge – I’m lucky we have a REALLY good veg stall on our local market who stock exotic things like mooli and pak choi. If I can convince them I’ll get them to pose for a picture one day! – and steamed rice. However, as the lurgy got me yesterday we’re just having chicken and extra peppers in the sauce! Because of the lurgy tonight I’ve added extra ginger. For the 3 of us I use 1 1/4 cups of rice and 2 1/2 cups of boiling water. Simmer the rice for 5 minutes then turn off for 15 minutes with the lid on. DO NOT LIFT THE LID before the time is up. Drain any excess liquid, fluff and serve.

We’re shoe shopping for The Cub tomorrow – the horror!

Today consists of the library and food shopping. As I didn’t post next weeks menu planner yesterday when I should have, here it is:

Spag Bol
Fish fingers
Fettuccine with melting Brie, Cherry tomatoes and Basil
Pie
Paprika Pork
Pan Haggerty
Chicken Chasseur

I look forward NOT AT ALL to trying to get The Cub to eat pie, he views it as poison. I might try separating filling from pastry and see how that goes.

Here’s the shopping list for the recipes – although I think recipe is a bit strong for fish fingers:

Enough mince for your family, for us that’s about 3/4lb or 340g
Garlic
2  x Tinned tomatoes – I like the chopped ones
Passata
Fish Fingers
Good chipping potatoes or decent oven bake chips – your choice 😀
Fettuccine
100g Brie or soft cheese – your choice, the recipe says use 300g but this serves 4 and it’s to much for us
extra virgin olive oil
cherry tomatoes – recipe calls for 300g but I find that 100g works for us, that is 1 of my hands full – your hands may be bigger or smaller and your family may love cherry tomatoes, do what works for you 😀
Fresh Basil – have some left over from last week because I bought the sort that grows
Lemon
Vegetable oil
250g streaky bacon (I’ve got some back bacon so I’ll be using that)
The recipe calls for 6 medium potatoes – what does that fucking mean? Sorry, but it makes me SO cross! Apparently, according to our friend Google, a medium potato weighs about 60g so that’s about 360g of potato.
6 onions – I get to play with my mandolin, let’s hope this time I don’t try to slice of my finger. I’ll be using red onions.
9 carrots, use your common sense, if you’re buying chantenay carrots get loads. If they are massive comedy carrots use less.
Chicken stock 1l
150g grated cheddar
Chicken thighs – enough for your family
Fresh thyme sprigs – we have some growing on our front AtAt station
Olive oil
100g Shallots – if there aren’t any on the market today I shall be using red onions
Tomato puree
Dry white wine
500g mushrooms whichever ones you like, I shall be going with what is available on the market – sometimes they have mixed shrooms, yum!
Bay leaves
Flatleaf parsley
1 packet of ready rolled puff pastry, because life is to short to make it yourself.
10g dried mushrooms – use porcini if you can, Aldi do some really good dried mushrooms when it’s Chinese week, I usually stock up and use those.
1/2 kg braising steak
caster sugar
plain flour
150ml dark ale
beef stock cubes
100g smoked bacon lardons – Aldi do really good little packs and you can freeze half
Eggs
400g pork chunks – recipe calls for pork fillet but I’ll be using the cheapest cut because I’ll be using the slow cooker 😀
100 ml crème fraîche – I’ll use yoghurt if it’s to expensive or sour cream, as I have some in the fridge.
Paprika – I’ll be using sweet because the boys don’t like spicy

Of course, you will need to provide accompaniments so this is not an exhaustive shopping list but it is a list of all the ingredients you’ll need for this weeks planner, cook along with me 😀 I have been thinking, and yes, actually it hurt a lot. I’m going to post the recipe on how to do it properly the day before I post what I did and what it looked like. Then, if you’d like to you can follow the recipe yourself and let me know what you did on my blog iyswim 😀

Here’s an old picture of sweet and sour because it was basically identical and the cable for my phone has disappeared, I shall probably find it in the lego box.

003

Old Cub Picture

various 047

New Cub Picture

Love, peace and pizza!

Leave a Reply

