Day 16, in which we find that

The Cub is an adorable freak. I love him, one of the things I love about him most is that he’s a freak and hasn’t learned to see the world they way everyone else is ‘supposed’ to. He does, however, drive me nutso sometimes with it. Take tonight for example, The Cub thinks that pie is poison. So I popped his filling in a dish, cooked his pie top separate and did him veggies like us. He bloody loved it – he was’t keen on the carrots being squishy but that’s ok. If I’d served him it all together he’d have freaked. Still moving on.

So, what did I do?

First off I DID NOT MAKE THE PASTRY, I can, but life is far to short to do that kind of thing. I followed the recipe in a frying but used only 700g of beef cut into us size chunks, for pan for step 1. Put put the bits in the slow cooker. Bunged the lid on and let it cook on low for 8 hours.

I followed the bacon (pack of lardons from Aldi, really Aldi should have me on comission the amount of bigging up I do for them) and mushrooms step. There was no time to allow it to cool before putting the pie top on, I’m NOT a pie purist so to me is anything with pastry on it. Did the mushrooms etc. before it went in the oven. Popped in the oven to cook the pastry, served with boiled potatoes and peas. Twas V yum and there was enough left over to make 3 more portions, so that’s in the freezer now.

I did forget to take a picture of it, so use your imaginations.

Tomorrow night is Paprika Pork in a pot definitely from the Good Food magazine.

  • 3 onions, thinly sliced
  • 600g pork fillets
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 300ml/½ pint chicken or vegetable stock
  • 100ml crème fraîche (about half a tub)
  1. Heat 2 tbsp oil in a pan add the onions and fry for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally until softened and lightly coloured.
  2. Cut the pork into sizeable chunks, then add to the pan and stir over a fairly high heat to seal and brown them all over. Stir in the paprika, cook briefly, then add the stock and bring to the boil.
  3. Cover and cook for 30-35 minutes, until the pork is tender.
  4. Stir in the crème fraîche and simmer for a further 2 minutes. (You can prepare the dish to this point up to 2 days ahead or freeze for up to 3 months.) If you have a few chives or a bit of parsley handy, snip this over the pork before serving with rice and a green vegetable – broccoli or stir-fried cabbage make the perfect accompaniment to this simple but delicious dish.

Old Picture of The Cub

New Picture of The Cub

Peace, love and pizza!

Leave a Reply

